Agenda – Plenary

Meeting Venue: Y Siambr – Y Senedd Meeting date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 Meeting time: 13.30

202(v3)

This meeting will be held in a hybrid format, with some Members in the Senedd Chamber and others joining by video-conference.

1 Questions to the First Minister

(45 mins)

The Presiding Officer will call Party Leaders to ask questions without notice to the First Minister after Question 2.

View Questions

2 Business Statement and Announcement

(30 mins)

View Business Statement and Announcement

Motions to elect Members to committees

NNDM8546 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Mark Drakeford (Welsh Labour) in place of Jack Sargeant (Welsh Labour) and Sam Rowlands (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Gareth Davies (Welsh Conservatives) as members of the Health and Social Care Committee.

NNDM8547 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)



Senedd Cymru Welsh Parliament To propose that the Senedd:

1. In accordance with Standing Order 17.3, elects Hefin David (Welsh Labour) and Jack Sargeant (Welsh Labour) as a members of the Children, Young People and Education Committee.

2. In accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Tom Giffard (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Laura Anne Jones (Welsh Conservatives), and Gareth Davies (Welsh Conservatives) in place of James Evans (Welsh Conservatives), as members of the Children, Young People and Education Committee.

NNDM8548 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Mark Drakeford (Welsh Labour) in place of John Griffiths (Welsh Labour) as a member of the Standards of Conduct Committee.

NNDM8549 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Julie Morgan (Welsh Labour) in place of Jenny Rathbone (Welsh Labour) and Carolyn Thomas (Welsh Labour) in place of Huw Irranca-Davies (Welsh Labour) as members of the Climate Change, Environment, and Infrastructure Committee.

NNDM8550 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Lee Waters (Welsh Labour) in place of Hefin David (Welsh Labour) and Laura Anne Jones (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Tom Giffard (Welsh Conservatives) as members of the Culture, Communications, Welsh Language, Sport, and International Relations Committee.

NNDM8551 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Jenny Rathbone (Welsh Labour) in place of Buffy Williams (Welsh Labour) as a member of the Economy, Trade, and Rural Affairs Committee.

NNDM8552 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects John Griffiths (Welsh Labour) in place of Buffy Williams (Welsh Labour), and Peter Fox (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Joel James (Welsh Conservatives), as members of the Petitions Committee.

NNDM8553 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Buffy Williams (Welsh Labour) in place of Jack Sargeant (Welsh Labour) and James Evans (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Altaf Hussain (Welsh Conservatives) as members of the Wales COVID-19 Inquiry Special Purpose Committee.

NNDM8554 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd:

1. In accordance with Standing Order 17.3, elects Carolyn Thomas (Welsh Labour) as a member of the Equality and Social Justice Committee.

2. In accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Julie Morgan (Welsh Labour) in place of Sarah Murphy (Welsh Labour) and Joel James (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Altaf Hussain (Welsh Conservatives) as members of the Equality and Social Justice Committee.

NNDM8555 Elin Jones (Ceredigion)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 17.14, elects Jack Sargeant (Welsh Labour) in place of Jayne Bryant (Welsh Labour), Lee Waters (Welsh Labour) in place of Carolyn Thomas (Welsh Labour), Altaf Hussain (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Sam Rowlands (Welsh Conservatives), and James Evans (Welsh Conservatives) in place of Joel James (Welsh Conservatives) as members of the Local Government and Housing Committee.

3 Questions to the Counsel General (45 mins) The Presiding Officer will call party spokespeople to ask questions without notice to the Counsel General after Question 2.

View Questions

- Statement by the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care:
 Creating a smokefree generation and tackling youth vaping
 (30 mins)
- 5 Statement by the Cabinet Secretary for Economy, Energy and Welsh Language: Our economic future (45 mins)
- 6 Statement by the Cabinet Secretary for North Wales and Transport:
 Priorities for Transport: Listening, partnership, making change (45 mins)
- 7 LCM on the Automated Vehicles Bill (15 mins)

NDM8541 Ken Skates (Clwyd South)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 29.6 agrees that provisions in the Automated Vehicles Bill, in so far as they fall within the legislative competence of the Senedd, should be considered by the UK Parliament.

A Legislative Consent Memorandum, a Supplementary Legislative Consent Memorandum 2 and a Supplementary Legislative Consent Memorandum 3 were laid in Table Office on <u>24 November 2023</u>, <u>13 February 2024</u> and <u>5 April</u> <u>2024</u> respectively, in accordance with Standing Order 29.2.

A copy of the Bill can be found on the UK Parliament website:

https://publications.parliament.uk/pa/bills/cbill/58-04/0190/230190.pdf

Supporting Documents

Report of the Climate Change, Environment, and Infrastructure Committee

Report of the Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee

<u>Government response to the report of the Legislation, Justice and Constitution</u> <u>Committee</u>

<u>Report of the Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee (Supplementary</u> <u>Legislative Consent Memorandum No. 2)</u>

<u>Report of the Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee (Supplementary</u> <u>Legislative Consent Memorandum No. 3)</u>

8 Voting Time

The Senedd will sit again in Plenary at 13.30, Wednesday, 24 April 2024